imagen FIL imagen FIL



Guadalajara, Jalisco, April 29, 2019

FIL Literary Prize 2019 launches its call

Endowed with 150,000 US dollars, the FIL Literary Prize is the highest award granted by the Guadalajara International Book Fair


The 2019 edition of the Prize opens its reception of candidatures today, until July 19. Established in 1991, this award recognizes the life career of a writer with a valuable work in creative writing, any genre: poetry, novel, theatre, short stories or essay. Their language must be in Spanish, Catalan, Galician, French, Italian, Romanian or Portuguese.  This recognition is granted with 150,000 US dollars, and will be endowed during the opening ceremony of the 33rd edition of the Guadalajara International Book Fair.

             Nominations to the FIL Literary Prize can be made by institutions, groups, or cultural or educative organizations, as well as people interested in literature. Members of the jury can also put forward candidates, according to the procedures and times established in this call.  Every nomination should be presented with the application form available in the web page This is the only way to postulate an author. The jury will consider valid only those nominations that fulfill all the requirements of this call.

             Writers can be candidates to the FIL Literary Prize regardless of their gender or nationality. Their work must have original content, with critical and international recognition.  This call will be closed at the last second of Friday, July 19. The laureate will be announced next Monday, September 2, during a press conference that will take place in Guadalajara. Seven writers and literary critics will form the jury. They will have the task to judge the contribution of the candidates and their whole body of work. 

             This award is summoned by the  Civil Association Prize for Literature in Romance Languages, formed by the Ministry of Culture, University of Guadalajara, Government of Estate of Jalisco, Government of Guadalajara, Government of Zapopan, Bancomext, Arca Continental, and the University of Guadalajara Foundation.  The sponsors are Montegrappa and Alianza Editorial.

             The award has been granted to Nicanor Parra (1991), Juan José Arreola (1992), Eliseo Diego (1993), Julio Ramón Ribeyro (1994), Nélida Piñón (1995), Augusto Monterroso (1996), Juan Marsé (1997), Olga Orozco (1998), Sergio Pitol (1999), Juan Gelman (2000), Juan García Ponce (2001), Cintio Vitier (2002), Rubem Fonseca (2003), Juan Goytisolo (2004), Tomás Segovia (2005), Carlos Monsiváis (2006), Fernando del Paso (2007), António Lobo Antunes (2008), Rafael Cadenas (2009), Margo Glantz (2010), Fernando Vallejo (2011), Alfredo Bryce Echenique (2012), Yves Bonnefoy (2013), Claudio Magris (2014), Enrique Vila-Matas (2015), Norman Manea (2016), Emmanuel Carrère (2017), and Ida Vitale (2018).

Check the guidelines here


For further information contact:

Press Office and Publicity General coordinator, Mariño González at the phone number (52) 33 3810 0331, ext. 952